English 2, Section 80817, Tu&Th 9:30-10:45, Room 801

General Info Syllabus
First Visit If this is your first time here, follow the link.
The Students

Week 1 Assignments Beginning Monday, 8/18/2008
Week 2 Assignments Beginning Monday, 8/25/2008; Last day to register or add classes, Fri. 8/29.
Week 3 Assignments Beginning Tuesday, 9/2/2008; Campus closed on Labor Day, 9/1.
Week 4 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/8/2008
Week 5 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/15/2008
Example MLA Paper While this is a long example, it's instructive
Story Peer Review Checklist
Week 6 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/22/2008
The Life You Save . . . Flannery O'Connor's "The Life You Save May Be Your Own."
Week 7 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/29/2008
Week 8 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/6/2008
Week 9 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/13/2008
Week 10 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/20/2008
Theme Comparison Peer Review

Death and the Maiden Schubert chamber music
Death and the Maiden Schubert with poem text in German
Text of Claudius Poem Matthias Claudius in Wikipedia
The Verlaine's version of Death Rock group homage to Paul Verlaine
Nevermore Paul Verlaine poem
It's All Over Now, Baby Blue Bob Dylan video on YouTube
It's All Over Now, Baby Blue Bob Dylan Lyrics
P. O. W. Video Alicia Keys
P. O. W. Poem Alicia Keys
"Sari" Lyrics Nellie McKay
"Sari" Video Nellie McKay
Week 11 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/27/2008
Week 12 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/3/2008
Hamlet Study Questions
Henry VIII's Children
Week 13 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/10/2008; Campus closed on Tuesday, 11/11, for Veteran's Day.
Week 14 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/17/2008
Week 15 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/24/2008; Campus closed for Thanksgiving, 11/27 to 11/30.
Hamlet Paper
Week 16 Assignments Beginning Monday, 12/1
Kisangani, Congo Setting for V. S. Naipaul's A Bend in the River
Boyoma Falls The end of the navigable Congo River
Hope in the Congo Bill Moyer's Journal
Bend in the River Final Topics
Week 17 Assignments & Finals Begin Beginning Monday, 12/8; Finals begin on Thursday, 12/11
Week 18 Last week of semester Beginning Monday, 12/15; Final exam on Tuesday, 12/16, from 10:30-12:30; Finals and semester end on Wednesday,12/17.