English 1, Section 80230, Tu&Th 9:30-10:45, Room 801

General Info Syllabus
First Visit If this is your first time here, follow the link.
LR10 Welcome Packet
The Students

Week 1 Assignments Beginning Thursday, 8/20/2009;
Ring Around the Collar Neil Postman's article on advertisements
Week 2 Assignments Beginning Monday 8/24/2009
LR10 Assignments From Lia Thomas
Rodrigo y Gabriela
Vanguard Ad From the August 24 New Yorker
MLA format example
Week 3 Assignments Beginning Monday,8/31/2009; Last day to add classes, Sunday, 9/6
Conjunctions & Punctuation
Week 4 Assignments Beginning Tuesday, 9/8/2009; Campus closed for Labor Day holiday, 9/5 to 9/7;
Ad Paper Grading Rubric
MLA for Television Ad
Ira Glass on Storytelling
Drew Gilpin Faust On Education
Grammar exercies
Erik Erikson's eight stages
Compact Eight Stages Hopefully easier to read
Week 5 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/14/2009;Last day to drop w/o "W", Sunday, 9/20
Grading Notation
Piaget & Kohlberg
Week 6 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/21/2009
Week 7 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/28/1009
MLA for Family Paper
Week 8 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/5/2009
Map of Human Migration
Impact of Whites on Native Americans From Josephy, Alvin M. Jr. "The Indian Heritage of America." New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1970. 278-285.
African-American Timeline Link to PBS site
Finding the North Star Using the little and big dippers to find the north star
Frederick Douglass Timeline Douglass, Frederick. "Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass." New York: Barnes and Nobles Classics, 2005. VIII-XI.
Week 9 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/12/2009
Verb Tenses
Week 10 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/19/2009
Plessy v. Ferguson 1896 Supreme Court decision
13th, 14th, 15th Amendments U.S. Constitution
U.S. Constitution
Historically Black Colleges
Week 11 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/26/2009; Last day to drop with "W", Sunday. 11/1
Week 12 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/2/2009
Compare Contrast Structure
Week 13 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/9/2009
U.S. Senate Quantization Error
A Nano-Survey of Ethics
RSVP Ethics
Roger Scruton on Morality
Dreams Journal Questions
Leavenworth, Kansas Birthplace of Obama's mother, Ann Dunham
Kogelo, Kenya Birthplace of Obama's father
Sukarno & Indonesia
Baldwin & Obama Colm Toibin in The New York Review of Books
Obama in the Irony-Free Zone Joan Didion & Darryl Pinckney in The New York Review of Books
Week 14 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/16/2009
Dreams Journal Questions
Week 15 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/23/2009; Campus closed for Flex & Thanksgiving holiday, 11/25 to 11/29.
Week 16 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/30/2009
Final Paper
Final MLA References
Week 17 Assignments & Finals Begin Beginning Monday, 12/7/2009; Finals begin on Friday, 12/11; Your final exam will be on Thursday, 12/17, from 8:00 to 10:00.
Week 18 Finals & Semester Ends Beginning Monday, 12/14/2009; Finals end on Friday, 12/18