English 2, Section 80231, Tu&Th 12:30-1:45, Room 704

General Info Syllabus
First Visit If this is your first time here, follow the link.
The Students

Week 1 Assignments Beginning Thursday, 8/20/2009;
Week 2 Assignments Beginning Monday 8/24/2009
Rodrigo y Gabriela
Viewfinder Raymond Carver
Death and the Maiden Franz Schubert (1797 to1828)
Death and the Maiden Poem by Matthias Claudius (1740 to 1815)
It's All Over Now, Baby Blue Bob Dylan video on YouTube
It's All Over Now, Baby Blue Bob Dylan Lyrics
Week 3 Assignments Beginning Monday,8/31/2009; Last day to add classes, Sunday, 9/6
Week 4 Assignments Beginning Tuesday, 9/8/2009; Last day to drop w/o "W", Fri. ???. Campus closed for Labor Day holiday, 9/5 to 9/7;
MLA Sample Paper
Story Paper Grading Rubric
Student Paper On William Carlos Williams' "Use of Force"
Drew Gilpin Faust On Education
Conjunctions
Grammar exercies
Ira Glass on Storytelling
Week 5 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/14/2009
Grading Notation
Week 6 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/21/2009
Week 7 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/28/1009
Week 8 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/5/2009
High Hopes
Week 9 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/12/2009
Sergei Eisenstein's Film Form Google Books: "A Dialectical Approach to Film Form"
Week 10 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/19/2009
"Dream Deferred" Video Langston Hughes, Danny Glover reading
"I, Too" Langston Hughes, Denzel Washington reading
Death and the Maiden Franz Schubert (1797 to1828)
Death and the Maiden Poem by Matthias Claudius (1740 to 1815)
It's All Over Now, Baby Blue Bob Dylan video on YouTube
It's All Over Now, Baby Blue Bob Dylan Lyrics
"We Real Cool" Reading Gwendolyn Brooks
Tribute to Gwendolyn Brooks Phat Literature
P. O. W. Video Alicia Keys
P. O. W. Poem Alicia Keys
"Sari" Video Nellie McKay
"Sari" Lyrics Nellie McKay
"Forgetfulness" Video Billy Collins
"Forgetfulness" Poem Billy Collins
"Sprout and the Bean" Video Joanna Newsom
"Sprout and the Bean" Lyrics Joanna Newsom
Week 11 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/26/2009; Last day to drop with "W", Sunday. 11/1
Poetry Questions
Week 12 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/2/2009
Billy Collins on Poetry as Journey From Lapham's Quarterly
Week 13 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/9/2009
Week 14 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/16/2009
Week 15 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/23/2009; Campus closed for Flex & Thanksgiving holiday, 11/25 to 11/29.
Helen Vendler on Writing a Poetry Paper Work Cited: Vendler, Helen. "Chapter 10: Writing About Poems." Poems, Poets, Poetry: An Introduction and Anthology. 2nd ed. Boston: Bedford/St. Martin's, 2002. 311-328.
Week 16 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/30/2009
Week 17 Assignments & Finals Begin Beginning Monday, 12/7/2009; Finals begin on Friday, 12/11; Your final exam will be on Thursday, 12/17, from 1:30 to 3:30.
Week 18 Finals & Semester Ends Beginning Monday, 12/14/2009; Finals end on Friday, 12/18