English 1, Section 80230, Tu&Th 9:30-10:45, Room 801

General Info Syllabus
First Visit If this is your first time here, follow the link.
The Students

Week 1 Assignments Beginning Wednesday, 8/16/2010;
Ring Around the Collar Neil Postman's article on advertisements
Week 2 Assignments Beginning Monday 8/23/2010
Vanguard Ad From the August 24, 2009 New Yorker
MLA format example
MLA format of a TV ad
Week 3 Assignments Beginning Monday,8/30/2010; Last day to add classes, Monday, 8/30. Campus closed from Friday through Monday, 9/4 to 9/16 for Labor Day Holiday
Conjunctions & Punctuation
Ad Paper Grading Rubric
Ira Glass on Storytelling
Week 4 Assignments Beginning Tuesday, 9/7/2010
Erik Erikson's eight stages
Compact Eight Stages Hopefully easier to read
Piaget & Kohlberg
Week 5 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/13/2010; Last day to drop w/o "W", Sunday, 9/19
Grading Notation
Sentence Patterns
Week 6 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/20/2010
Week 7 Assignments Beginning Monday, 9/27/2010
Week 8 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/4/2010
MLA for Family Paper
Brief Analysis of Erik Erikson's Eight States of Development Chantelle Cole, a former English 1 student, who wrote this paper for Human Development 38
Week 9 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/11/2010
Universe & Solar System Timeline
Map of Human Migration
Impact of Whites on Native Americans
Lincoln on Slavery Terry Gross interviews Eric Foner regarding his new book The Fiery Trial: Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery
African-American Timeline
Finding the North Star
Frederick Douglass Timeline
Week 10 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/18/2010
Week 11 Assignments Beginning Monday, 10/25/2010; Last day to drop with "W", Sunday. 10/31
Week 12 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/1/2010
August Wilson's Fences Information about going to the performance this Friday, 11/5
Week 13 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/8/2010; Campus closed Thursday, 11/11, for Veteran's Day
Week 14 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/15/2010
Compare-Contrast Paper
U.S. Senate Quantization Error
A Nano-Survey of Ethics
RSVP Ethics
Roger Scruton on Morality
Information about Haiti From the Encyclopedia Britannica
Danticat Journal Questions Parts 1, 2, 3, 4 & Afterword
Thanksgiving Break No Classes Monday through Wednesday for Flex and SCFA; Campus closed from Thursday through Sunday for Thanksgiving Holiday
Week 15 Assignments Beginning Monday, 11/29/2010
Week 16 Assignments Beginning Monday, 12/6/2010
MLA references for final paper Remember that there are additional works cited requirements for this final paper.
Finals Schedule
Week 17 Finals Begin, Semester Ends Beginning Monday, 12/13/2010; Your final is from 8 to 10 on Thursday morning, 12/16. Finals end on Saturday, 12/18. Semester ends on the same day.