English 2, Section 10064, Tu&Th 9:30-10:50, Room 801

General Info Syllabus
First Visit If this is your first time here, follow the link.
The Students

Week 1 Assignments Beginning Tuesday, 1/20/2009;
Monday is MLK holiday.
Week 2 Assignments Beginning Monday 1/26/2009
Death and the Maiden Franz Schubert (1797 to1828)
Death and the Maiden Poem by Matthias Claudius (1740 to 1815)
It's All Over Now, Baby Blue Bob Dylan video on YouTube
It's All Over Now, Baby Blue Bob Dylan Lyrics
Week 3 Assignments Beginning Monday, 2/2/2009; Last day to add classes, Sunday, 2/8
Week 4 Assignments Beginning Monday, 2/9/2009; Last day to drop w/o "W", Fri. 2/15. Campus closed for Presidents' Day holiday, 2/13 to 2/16;
Week 5 Assignments Beginning Tuesday, 2/17/2009
Student Paper On William Carlos Williams' "Use of Force"
Brownies ZZ Packer
MLA Format
Week 6 Assignments Beginning Monday, 2/23/2009
"We Real Cool" Reading Gwendolyn Brooks
Tribute to Gwendolyn Brooks Phat Literature
P. O. W. Video Alicia Keys
P. O. W. Poem Alicia Keys
"Sari" Video Nellie McKay
"Sari" Lyrics Nellie McKay
"Dream Deferred" Video Langston Hughes, Danny Glover reading
"I, Too" Langston Hughes, Denzel Washington reading
"Forgetfulness" Video Billy Collins
"Forgetfulness" Poem Billy Collins
"Sprout and the Bean" Video Joanna Newsom
"Sprout and the Bean" Lyrics Joanna Newsom
Week 7 Assignments Beginning Monday, 3/2/1009
Paper Grading Rubric
Conjunctions
Week 8 Assignments Beginning Monday, 3/9/2009
Poetry Questions
Mathew Arnold's "Dover Beach" Samuel Barber set Arnold's poem, on page 951, to music
Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings, Opus 11 Leonard Slatkin Conducts the BBC Orchestra on September 15 2001 in honor of those who lost their lives a few days prior.
Helen Vendler on W. S. Merwin In the New York Review of Books
Week 9 Assignments Beginning Monday, 3/16/2009
Week 10 Assignments Beginning Monday, 3/23/2009; Last day to drop with "W", Sunday. 3/29
Poetry Peer Review
Week 11 Assignments Beginning Monday, 3/30/2009
Hamlet Study Questions
Week 12 Assignments Beginning Monday, 4/6/2009
Poetry Observations
Spring Break Spring Recess -- No school. from Monday 4/11 to 4/17
Week 13 Assignments Beginning Monday, 4/20/2009
Hecuba & Priam The parents of Paris and the Trojan War
Week 14 Assignments Beginning Monday, 4/27/2009
Week 15 Assignments Beginning Monday, 5/4/2009
The Talent Code A summer reading suggestion that addresses slow focus as a way to grow talent. Available at Amazon.com.
NY Times article by David Brooks On The Talent Code and Talent Is Overrated
Robert Penn Warren
Week 16 Assignments & Finals Begin Beginning Monday, 5/11/2009; Finals begin on Friday, 5/15; Final exam schedule.
Final-Paper Topics
Week 17 Finals & Semester Ends Beginning Monday, 5/18/2009; Finals end on Friday, 5/22